Astronomy – The Zodiac Part 2

Please read the previous blog before reading this one.


What to See?

  1. See the horizon (labelled in diagram). Horizon is a plane where earth and sky seem to meet.
  2. See where EAST and WEST are placed in the Diagram
  3. Notice the Sun position (it may be around 10 am). See ECLIPTIC – Sun’s path as Solid line with arrows.
  4. See the Zodiac – Area between dotted lines (See previous Blog)
  5. Note that All constellation/Signs and Planets will always be seen IN the Zodiac in the Sky.
  6. See the 1st sign rising in the east – It is CANCER. SO if you are born here at 10:00 am with Sun in Gemini your ascendant is Cancer. So, Ascendant is SIGN RISING IN THE EAST at Birth.
  7. Also Notice planets in the Zodiac – Moon in Tauras, Jupiter in Aries,Venus and Saturn in Pisces, Mars in Sagittarius.
  8. Note that other 6 signs and remaining planets are not visible here. It means that they are visible to other half of of earth which is under Sun’s Shadow that is in Night time.

Important Concepts:

  1. Note that Signs/ Constellation APPEARS TO MOVE as actually earth rotates. Each sign moves after 2 and half hour approximately. So, after 2 and half hour the next sign in East will be LEO. (Actually the signs/constellation forming the Zodiac are fixed – but they appear to us moving as Earth is rotating. Planets also move – they are not fixed but seen on earth as moving in Zodiac along ECLIPTIC.
  2. Each Sign is basically a group of fixed stars called as Constellation.
  3. Signs APPEAR to move as Earth Rotates
  4. Planets Move But within the Zodiac only. They have their own orbits around Sun which is Oval/ elliptical as we know. But here we are Seeing it FROM EARTH AS CENTER. So things change and movement appears within Zodiac.
  5. Don’t Confuse the term ELLIPTICAL (its shape of orbits of planets around Sun) and ECLIPTIC (Orbit of Sun around earth as it appears from Earth)

Hope You got something valuable..

Click LIKE or FOLLOW for more..

Good Bye…

#9 Bhavat Bhavam


Well, this is a concept in Astrology called as Bhavat Bhavam.

Lets start with an example.
Supposing you are seeing an astrological reading for children of a person from the person’s chart. Then to see the person’s children you refer his 5th house. Right ? (#6 Houses – Part 2 (Houses 5-8))

But for children you also see 9th house, WHY ???

Well this is the Bhavat Bhavam concept…..See that 9th house is 5th to the 5th house (Follow rules of previous blog for counting). SO this is the Bhavat Bhavam Concept.

Like for Career, Say you see the 10th house – that’s fine straight forward. But as per BHAVAT BHAVAM Concept you also have to see the 10th from the 10th House which is the 7th house – This is the Bhavat Bhavam Concept

It literally translates to Bhava means House in Sanskrit. SO BHAVAT BHAVAM is the House’s House 

Example with different outlook:

Now imagine I had a person’s chart and his father is not currently with him. But the boy wants to know about his Father’s Career and his does not have his father’s chart. So how do you See.. well that’s simple:

All you have to see is the house of Father .. Which is ? Yes the 9th House which represents father. So we know from basics that 10th house in the person’s chart represents his career/ profession.

So in order to see father’s Profession/career we consider Father’s 9th house of Boy’s Chart as 1st House and count 10 houses (as 10th house represents Career) from 9th house of father to see Father’s Career.

So, Counting 10 (Follow Rules as stated in previous blog) it comes to 6th house of the birth chart.

THIS 6th HOUSE of boy (for boy – 6 represents difficulties, job, disease, accidents) represents FATHER’s CAREER (as it is 10th to the Father’s House)

So Father’s Profession can be seen from 6th house of birth chart.

This is an example – The concept can be expanded to all queries.

If you like it, Click LIKE or FOLLOW for more…

Have a Good Day…..


#8 House – Counting errors !!!


Well this blog may seem to be the stupidest for the knowers of Astrology. But for the newbies – It is something very important….


Well how do you count a particular House from a house lets say 4th house from 7th. See below


So how do you count 4th house from the 7th house ? CAN YOU ? LET’s SEE….

Did you answer ?

  1. 11th house ??? Like counting from 7th. So – next is 8th then 9th and then 10th and then 11th ??? (Like Say for example what is 4th to 16 ? So you count from next number as 17…., then 18…., then 19… and 20….Right ? Or you may simply add 16+4=20. SO THE NUMBER 4th to 16th is 20 – that’s right mathematically !)
  2. OR the 10th House ???


for Astrology, if you said 11th house you are Wrong.

When you count for charts (ITS A RULE – Don’t ask me Why?) Count from the number itself. So when you are asked to locate 4th house from 7th – You should count STARTING from 7th ITSELF, then 8th, then 9th and finally 10th (At 4th) – So, its the 10th house.

So now tell me, in this chart below:


What is the 5th house to the 3rd house ???


#2 Houses – Basics of Kundli

#3 Houses – Basics of Kundli – Example

Refer in case of confusion…

So, What is the 5th house to the 3rd house ???

If you count – then : 3rd house ITSELF is 1st, 4th house is 2nd, 5th house is 3rd, 6th house is 4th and 7th house is 5th.

So answer is 7th house is 5th to the 3rd house..

Well I think its easy ..Reread the blog…


If you like it CLICK LIKE or FOLLOW for more…

Good Bye !

#1. Houses: Basics of Kundli

by: Dr. Rujit Desai

Have your ever seen a horoscope ? Yes, indeed you must have even if you dont believe in astrology… you must have seen somewhere

Below is the chart you must have seen commonly:


This is a Kundli (or Horoscope) It consists of  Square with 2 diagonals and 4 other lines from midpoint of border lines. That just gets complicated. Simply look at the figure above.

Each section in the box is called as house (may be a square or triangle in the larger square).

The houses are counted as below:


Note the word rising sign that is the place where you start counting as House Number 1,2,3 and so on… Note that counting the houses is from 1 to 12 in the ANTI-CLOCKWISE direction.

Thus, a KUNDLI is basic a birth chart with 12 houses. 

There are 2 type of Kundli in India. They are:


The above diagram is that of North Indian Style. It is most frequently used and easy to understand. I prefer the North Indian Style of Kundli (as stated above).

South Indian Style of Kundli I Shall explain in my next blog.

Hope you understood. If you liked it Simply click “Follow” and stay tuned for more.

Have a Great Day !!!